My golf cart has an Eco Battery — what does the warranty cover and what do I need to do?
The short answer
Register the pack yourself within 60 days of purchase — Eco Battery's rule is that an unregistered pack drops to 1 year of coverage — and keep your bill of sale, because coverage runs from the sale date on your receipt. What you're covered for depends on the generation and on who sold it: Eco's own current Gen3 'Limited Lifetime' warranty (packs sold from February 1, 2026) is 6 years of free repair or replacement, then a new pack at 50% of MSRP through year 9 and 75% through year 12; cart makers state their own terms for factory packs (ICON: Gen3 10 years, 5 full; EPIC: 8 years, 3 full; Venom: 8 years). Every version is non-transferable, void from an unauthorized seller, and void if you charge with a non-Eco charger.
Which carts come with an Eco Battery
Eco Battery (ECO Capital, Inc.) names the cart brands that ship its lithium packs from the factory: ICON, Bintelli, MadJax, Venom, EPIC, Honor, Advanced EV, Activ-EV, Voyager, ZROX, and Vivid. ICON goes further — Eco Battery is “the exclusive factory-installed lithium battery brand on all 2025 ICON EV models and newer.” Eco also sells aftermarket bundles for other carts (Club Car, E-Z-GO, Yamaha, Evolution, Denago), but a bundle existing for a cart is not proof that cart shipped with one — check the label on your pack.
| Cart maker | Stated Eco battery warranty | Full replacement | Register within |
|---|---|---|---|
| ICON (Gen3 pack) | 10 years | 5 years, then 5 pro-rated | 60 days (cart and battery separately) |
| ICON (Gen1/Gen2 pack) | 8 years | 3 years, then 5 pro-rated | 60 days |
| EPIC | 8 years | 3 years, then 5 pro-rated | 60 days (Eco's rule) |
| Venom EV | 8 years, “provided by Eco Battery” | Not stated | Buy from an authorized Venom dealer |
| Bintelli (Beyond) | 8 years | Not stated | 90 days, per Bintelli's manual |
These cart-maker figures don't line up with Eco's own published terms (below), and Eco hasn't said which set governs a factory-installed pack. Bintelli's 90-day window conflicts with Eco's 60. The safe move: register within 60 days, keep the bill of sale, and file any claim through the dealer who sold you the cart.
Which generation do you have
- Gen3 — a serial-number tag, “Gen3” and kWh graphics, and dual communication ports. A heated Gen3 adds an “Auto-Heating” icon. The power button is momentary (it springs back).
- Gen2 — a serial-number tag, a power button, and a steel case.
- Gen1 — no serial number and no power button; a plastic or steel thru-hole case. Eco's warranty-claim form can't look up a Gen1 pack by serial.
What Eco's own warranty covers
| Pack | Term | Free repair/replace | After that |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gen3 sold from Feb 1, 2026 | Limited Lifetime | 6 years | New pack at 50% of MSRP (yrs 6–9), 75% (yrs 9–12), parts only after 12 |
| Gen3 sold May 1, 2025 – Jan 31, 2026 | 10 years | 5 years | New pack at 50% of MSRP (yrs 5–7), 75% (yrs 7–10) |
| Gen2 (and Gen1) | 8 years | 36 months | Pro-rated: you pay purchase price × months owned ÷ 96 |
“Lifetime” is the label, not the deal: after year 6 you buy a new pack at a discount, and after year 12 you get parts only. During the free period you pre-pay Eco $300 for shipping and handling, and Eco may send a certified refurbished pack instead of a new one. Eco hasn't said whether the February 2026 Lifetime terms apply to Gen3 packs sold under the earlier 10-year policy.
Register it — and what voids it
Eco's rule, verbatim: “All products must be registered within 60 days of the purchase date. If not registered, the warranty will default to 1 year of coverage.” Your dealer can register it, but don't assume they did — Eco's dealer bulletin says “You or your customer can register.” ICON asks you to register the cart and the batteries separately. Register at ecobattery.com/register with your dealer's name, the battery's serial number, and your bill of sale.
- A non-Eco charger. “Use of any non-approved Eco Battery chargers will void the warranty on your battery” — that includes battery tenders.
- Buying from an unauthorized seller: “Products purchased from non-authorized dealers carry no warranty.” Eco's dealer locator lists who's authorized.
- Selling the cart. Every version is non-transferable — Eco, ICON, EPIC, and Venom all say so. If you're buying a used cart with an Eco pack, assume the battery warranty didn't come with it.
- Wiring packs in series, more than 3 in parallel, pressure washing, submersion, storing it fully discharged, or going over a year without charging it.
Living with it: buttons, the meter, cold, and storage
- Power: on a Gen3, hold the power button about 3 seconds to switch it off. It blinks when the battery management system (BMS) has a fault.
- Sleep: the pack goes into Power Save Mode after sitting. “To exit Power Save Mode, simply press and release either the remote wake-up button or the on/off button on the battery.” The remote button can wake the battery but can't turn it off.
- The meter: the state-of-charge display needs no calibration and is accurate to ±5%. Read the percentage, not the voltage — lithium's flat voltage curve makes voltage a poor guide.
- Cold: a standard pack won't take any charge below 32°F, including regenerative braking — Eco advises against driving a regen cart when the overnight low is under 32°F. A heated Gen3 warms itself on the charger and charges down to −30°F.
- Storage: charge above 50%, unplug the charger, switch the battery off, and charge it at least every 6 months. Below −4°F, take the battery out of the cart. After storage, fully charge before driving.
- Firmware: Gen3 packs take firmware updates through Eco's EB Power app (Gen2 packs log data and diagnostics). Check for an update if the pack misbehaves.
Eco Battery fault codes
When a code shows on the meter, Eco's manual says to “record the trouble code and contact your dealer.” Level 1 is a serious fault that will not clear on its own — contact Eco Battery. Level 2 (major) and Level 3 (minor) faults clear themselves once conditions allow.
| Code | Fault | Level |
|---|---|---|
| E01 | MOS error | 1 |
| E02 | External short circuit | 1 |
| E03 | Cell differential | 1 |
| E04 | Cell over voltage | 2 |
| E05 | Cell under voltage | 2 |
| E06 | Pack over voltage | 2 |
| E07 | Pack under voltage | 2 |
| E08 | Discharge over current | 3 |
| E09 | Charge over current | 3 |
| E10 | Discharge temp high | 3 |
| E11 | Charge temp high | 3 |
| E12 | Charge temp low | 3 |
| E13 | Discharge temp low | 3 |
| E14 | MOS temp high | 3 |
| E15 | SOC low | 3 |
| E16 | External communication error | 1 |
| E17 | Internal communication error | 1 |
Upgrading or replacing an Eco pack
More range: Eco's datasheets allow two packs in parallel (“Parallel Connectable: Yes, up to 2”), but don't mix generations — “We do not recommend mixing Gen2 and Gen3 batteries in parallel.” Bigger single packs exist: a 51V 150Ah Gen3 is $2,900 and a 51V 160Ah Gen3 is $3,119 on ecobattery.com (read 2026-10-02), with cart-specific bundles priced higher.
Switching brands: on an ICON, Eco is “the only authorized lithium battery approved for ICON EV vehicles,” so a different brand can put your cart warranty at risk while it lasts. Out of warranty on any cart, our 48-volt lithium showdown ranks the drop-in packs — Eco's own Gen3 bundle included — on warranty, discharge power, weight, and cost per kWh.
Frequently asked
- How long is the Eco Battery warranty?
- It depends on the generation and the date of sale. Eco's current Gen3 warranty (packs sold from February 1, 2026) is a 'Limited Lifetime' warranty: 6 years of free repair or replacement, then a new pack at 50% of MSRP through year 9 and 75% through year 12, then parts only. Gen3 packs sold from May 1, 2025 to January 31, 2026 carry 10 years (5 free); Gen2 packs carry 8 years (36 months free, then pro-rated). Cart makers state their own terms for factory packs — ICON Gen3 10 years, EPIC and Venom 8 years.
- Do I need to register my Eco Battery if it came with my cart?
- Yes. Eco's rule is that a pack not registered within 60 days of purchase defaults to 1 year of coverage, and its dealer bulletin applies that to factory-installed packs too. Your dealer may register it, but you can do it yourself at ecobattery.com/register — keep your bill of sale as proof of the purchase date.
- Does the Eco Battery warranty transfer if I sell my golf cart?
- No. Eco Battery, ICON, EPIC, and Venom all state that the battery warranty is non-transferable — it covers the original purchaser only. If you're buying a used cart with an Eco pack, assume the battery warranty didn't come with it.
- Can I use a different charger on my Eco Battery?
- Not without losing the warranty. Eco's manual says use of any non-approved Eco Battery charger voids the battery warranty, and its FAQ says the same about third-party chargers and battery tenders.
- Why won't my Eco Battery charge in cold weather?
- A standard Eco lithium pack won't accept any charge below 32°F — plug-in or regenerative braking — to protect the cells. Eco advises against driving a regen-equipped cart when the overnight low is under 32°F. Heated Gen3 packs warm themselves when plugged into a communicating Eco charger and can charge down to −30°F.
- What does an Eco Battery error code mean?
- Gen3 packs show codes E01–E17 on the meter. Level 1 faults (E01 MOS error, E02 external short, E03 cell differential, E16 and E17 communication errors) won't clear on their own — contact Eco Battery. Level 2 voltage faults (E04–E07) and Level 3 current and temperature faults (E08–E15) clear themselves once conditions allow. Eco's manual says to record the code and contact your dealer.
Keep going
Sources
- Eco Battery — warranty hub (registration, transfer, authorized dealers)
- Eco Battery Gen3 Lifetime Limited Warranty, effective Feb 1, 2026 (USA)
- Eco Battery Gen2 8-Year Limited Warranty
- Eco Battery Gen3 user manual (Rev 3) — power save, meter, cold weather, storage, error codes
- Eco Battery FAQ — generation ID, chargers, app
- Eco Battery dealer bulletin — registration, power button, parallel setups
- Eco Battery — 3rd-generation release and factory OEM brands (May 27, 2025)
- ICON EV warranty — Eco lithium 8–10 years, register within 60 days
- ICON EV FAQ — Eco exclusive on 2025+ ICONs; Gen3 vs Gen1/2 terms
- EPIC Carts warranty — 8-year Eco lithium warranty
- Venom EV warranty (April 29, 2025) — Eco batteries 8 years
- Bintelli Beyond user manual 2025–2026 — Eco registration 90 days
Last reviewed 10/02/2026